- Makes Me Happy Monday: Small, Still Tree

Each year brings change … less motion, less fuss.
… more focus on people than “stuff.”
… more focus on quiet than “show”
… no big money … no big gifting … just family and relationship focus.
It is really a good thing.

This year brings more of that beauty.

Christmas tree

A year or two ago, I down-sized from the annual choice of a full size, almost-ceiling-height tree to a smaller, table top tree.  It cost less money and it took less time to decorate … but brought just as much cheer into the room.

This year, with a reflection on my adventures in sewing and a new booty of buttons, I decided to add some new ornaments to our collection.

Christmas still

I love the twinkle and natural feel of white lights. It fits our decorating style – very natural and earthy … as if the tree were sparkling with snow in the moon light out in the natural world.  To fit with that feel, I used cream-colored and white buttons in clear glass balls from a local craft store. I added a pinch of ribbon curled and some sprigs of pearls/beads from a small, white beaded floral arrangement that I disassembled. Joy and I sat in the den for a bit the other morning and snipped, curled and filled these ornaments while we talked about school, anarchy, movies and how we spend our days. I adore that girl. I admire her wisdom and cherish her opinion. Talking with her makes me heart happy.

Button ornament

I am so pleased with the ornaments. A few of these buttons came from a stash that was gifted me from my sweet grandmother, Odessa. It makes me happy to think of my world filled with bits and pieces of her past. Button ornamentAnd so, we begin this week …
filled with small joys of antique memories
and a small, still tree
with a few very special gifts
carefully chosen and wrapped.

My little tree with sweet, new ornaments
makes me very happy today.

What makes YOU happy this marvelous Monday morning?

Categories: "Makes Me Happy" Mondays | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “- Makes Me Happy Monday: Small, Still Tree

  1. After making the dough by hand, as I always have, for our first batch of pierogi for Christmas Eve dinner, my sweet husband had me open a Christmas gift yesterday afternoon. It is a Kitchen Aid stand mixer! Oh my how my old weak hands rejoiced! We used it last evening to make the second batch of pierogi dough and this morning it was put to use again for a batch of cookie dough. And…to add to this happiness, our grands have stayed with us for the last three nights/days and helped with all this holiday cooking!

    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    • Oh my goodness! Bev, I can’t imagine being gifted such a sweet, thoughtful gift! For someone who loves to cook and especially bake, a Kitchen Aid stand mixer is such a grand gift! What a sweet gift from your hubby. I’m so happy for you! What a Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

