Fish Bowl Cleaning Help

Shannon at Rocks in My Dryer is looking for general “tips” for her Works for Me Wednesday special. I have a great fish bowl cleaning tip!

We have a fish bowl and have had a large fish tank in the past. One of the hardest parts about cleaning a tank or bowl is getting the algae off the rocks or gravel in the bottom of the tank. My incredible, bright, inventive seventeen year old had a great idea that has been SO very helpful.

To clean the rocks/gravel quickly and thoroughly, she suggested wearing exfoliation gloves. They can be purchased inexpensively at any drugstore or in the Health & Beauty section at any superstore.

When I clean my entire bowl or tank, I put the fish with about 1/2 of the tank’s water into a container and set them aside. Then I pour gravel or rocks into a strainer. I rinse them and then use my hand covered gloves to rub the rocks clean.  This has made the stinky job of fish tank cleaning MUCH faster and my hands much more efficient as “tools” to clean the tank. Of course, I don’t do this really often because it isn’t necessary … but when the gravel gets really dirty, this has been a great help! It has made cleaning the tank much less arduous and I know it’s much more clean when I am finished.

After I get the rocks clean, I place them back in the bottom, add my fish and water and proceed with replacing the water that was removed with prepared, clean water.

If you’re a fish bowl or fish tank fan, I think you’ll find this tip helpful. Works for me!

8 thoughts on “Fish Bowl Cleaning Help

  1. Hi I am so happy I found your site, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was browsing on Aol for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say
    thank you for a tremendous post and a all round entertaining blog
    (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it
    all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also included
    your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

    Like

  2. New and current partnerships will supply added sources for these programs to strengthen their efficiency, accessibility, and
    physical activity and nutrition tracking choices.

    Like

  3. Unquestionably believe that which you stated.
    Your favorite justification appeared to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I certainly get irked while people consider worries that they plainly do not know
    about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top
    as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

