Makes Me Happy Monday : Kenmore

Our New FridgeWe bought a secondhand refrigerator when we bought the home that we currently own.   AT LEAST a year and a half ago, the compressor began to have trouble.  When it would cycle on and off, it would make a terrible “bump bump” noise.  My friend Bron said it sounded like there was a gremlin in the fridge.  We got used to the sound, but most people would jump when they heard it.  I always explained to the person frightened that I gave God the glory for that noise! Though the machine made a terrible noise, every morning when we got up, our groceries were still cold. We knew that it was only a matter of time before our icebox would finally lose the battle.

Last Monday night we noticed that the food in the freezer was beginning to thaw.  It was time.

It was a slow decline.  I took the “important” food (i.e. Christmas ham, pork loins and other meats) to a friend’s freezer while we shopped. We found this awesome side-by-side on craigslist.  It was a great buy!

Ya know, I hear people talk about how they always seem to have something breakdown when they have a little extra money.  They get discouraged because they have to “waste” that money on fixing something when they had plans to spend that money on some other item.

I see it the other way around.  I’m always thankful that, when something breaks, there always seems to be a little extra money somewhere to take care of the repair.

So it was with the fridge.  I had contemplated buying the little girl a bunkbed for Christmas.  Instead, we bought her a way to keep milk and fruit cold.  It’s not what I had in mind for her Christmas gift, but I’m thankful that I had a few extra dollars right here at Christmas to take care of such a large purchase.

So, today, I’m thankful for my new refrigerator.
Yep, Kenmore makes me happy.

What makes you happy this marvelous Monday morning?

One thought on “Makes Me Happy Monday : Kenmore

Leave a Reply

