My All-Time Favorite Christmas Card

My All-time Favorite Christmas CardI pride myself in the fact that I am not a packrat.  But, one thing that I do hold onto is Christmas cards.

We’ve moved so many times that people have a hard time keeping up with us.  We fall off Christmas lists. Then, there’s the fact that very few people even mail Christmas cards anymore.

So, I have a tendency to hold onto cards.

This is my all time favorite Christmas card.  I still remember the first time I held it.  It brought tears to my eyes.  It’s dated 1998 on the back.  It was sent to me by one of my best friends, Della.

The inside

This card so poignantly links Jesus’ birth …. with his death. It cries, “a baby is born … but, He will die.”  It reminds me that I can’t begin to understand the intricacies of the spirit world and our Creator.  I have a magnet on my ‘fridge that says, “A God that is small enough to be understood is not BIG enough to be worshiped.”   Somehow, that magnet and this card are intertwined.

I always think of the spiritual realm as being sort of like gravity:  I don’t fully understand how or why it works, but I am affected by it and I cannot deny it’s influence on my life.

And so, this cards comes out every year and is part of our mantle decoration.  It’s a reminder of  the birth, the death and the presence of a spiritual realm – one that I cannot see, but I cannot deny exists because I experience it on a daily basis.

Leave a Reply

