A Friendship Threesome

Friends are good. History is good.
But, friends with history are excellent.
I have a few of those friends.  People that I’ve known for years.
Folk that are just as content to let me vent upon occasion
as they are to enjoy my silliness upon occasion
or dry a tear upon occasion.
Linda and Cindi are two of those friends.
While visiting Tennessee, we had the blessed opportunity
to be able to go out on the town.
We had fun.
No, really. We had a FUN.Storm & I, Cyndi & Linda

Cindi and Linda make it a habit to spend the evening as an alias when they go out. So, our night began picking our pseudonym for the evening. I traveled as Brushetta with Brie and Siloam (who later used her other alias, Pesto).

We began the evening at Ruby Tuesday.  No need to rename our waiter, as his name was Storm.  How could we possibly top that?

Dessert first because we can

We ordered dessert first.  We shared a delectable plate of Strawberry Pouf Pastry.  Then skipping to the front of what is the normal order of a meal, we chose our appetizers.

I was careful through the evening, to take it all in.  I caught Jack Johnson singing to me over the sound system. glitter, sparkle and stoneI saw beautiful sparkles of copper and glitters of green in the tile interspersed between the stone and terra cotta that lined the walls.  The lighting was beautiful.  Even the shades on the lamps were beautiful – funky and retro in earthy colors of brown and copper.  The night was rich and deep and sweet.  I took these things in as a gift from my Father.

After we finished eating, Brie and Siloam chose to take a reality game show challenge.  They chose to see if they could use everything on the table to create a masterpiece work of art as a present to the bus boy.  He would have to clean off the table, how nice to find it interesting, instead of just a dirty table of used napkins and dregs in cups.  Here is their final entry to the competition.

Ruby Tuesday Reality Show ChallengeYes, Storm came by while they were at work.  “This is a present for the bus boy!” they touted.  “Oh, I bus my own tables,” Storm replied.  “OH!!! Then, this is a present for you!”  they said. He was such a sport.  He  graciously played along with our silliness through the night.

As we got ready to leave, Brie turned over the Samuel Adams coaster to find her words printed there!  Having already graciously tipped Storm, we slipped him another $5.00, wrote him a gracious note on the coaster and headed out.

How does that happen?  There are no coincidences.  I thank God for silly laughter from things like a coaster that quoted our words only moments earlier.  He is truly alive.  He wants us to laugh.  He wants us to see Him.  We must only look to see.

Doubletree maniaOur evening included a photo shoot at Doubletree Inn.  I coaxed the girls inside knowing there would be something fascinating to use as a backdrop for photos. We were not disappointed. There was a wonderful glass-wall fountain just inside the entrance.

Surely, we looked drunk as we doubled over in laughter just inside the foyer playing and taking pictures. Rembrandt's, Chattanooga, TN

We also visited a coffee cafe’ so we could sit and talk some more.  It was a bustling place so our raucous laughter and great use of hand motions while telling stories went fairly unnoticed.  Naturally, the girls took the reality show challenge again.Lars, the Swedish Sailor

We ended the evening with a stop back at Pesto’s home for a few hours of talking.  Conversation of encouragement, tears, more laughter and somber knowing that our time would soon come to an end.

For a rich history of friendship, I am deeply thankful.
Oh, that I may offer to my friends
the same richness Cindi and Linda offer to me.A foggy Chattanooga evening

4 thoughts on “A Friendship Threesome

  1. Yeah. That’s what I’m talkin’ about. You do this so well, Brushetta: the pictures, the blogging, the eye for detail. I recognize those mini-cones in the banner! I had a blahst (that’s how you spell blast when using a British accent) with you guys. Such sweet, great memories. Thanks for making the drive. I love you, Brie.

    Like

  2. Like Cyndi said, you are the ingredient that takes us to the next level. We move from fun to crazy, epic, radically, silly wild! I love you, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

