Trees and Roots

Tree LoveHave I mentioned that I love trees?

But, I saw this tree yesterday at school.  I just had to stop and take a photo.  I loved it’s shape. Look at the beautiful shadows that are cast on the ground by the mid-morning light.  It won’t be long before tiny buds of leaves are ready to uncurl and unfurl, filling the tree with shades of green.  I am ready for this.

I often think about the roots of a tree.  We can’t see them, but they’re such an important part of the tree.  They don’t just feed and nourish the tree, they are it’s support system.  Did you know that the Redwood tree (the tallest trees in North America) has roots that don’t go very far down in to the ground?  Their roots are long, but they run along the top of the ground and are intertwined with the roots of other Redwoods.  This helps them stay firmly planted without being easily uprooted.

Like Jesus spoke in parables, paralleling the spiritual and physical worlds, God convicts, teaches and shows me His love through daily activities or His creation.  I love to share those stories.

And, so, I contemplate my roots.  Are they happy? Are they intertwined with the roots of others so that I will not be toppled easily? Are they healthy so that they nourish me well?

How about you?  Are your roots strong and happy?

Leave a Reply

