Makes Me Happy Monday : Spaghetti Squash

I have to tell you – I really do think God laughs.  I think He’s funny.  And for some reason, I think that spaghetti squash is a funny vegetable.  Don’t ya think God smiles at spaghetti squash?  Look at it!!

In reality, the squash was created long before man created pasta so you can’t say that spaghetti squash looks like spaghetti.  In reality, spaghetti looks like spaghetti squash.

Spaghetti Squash on an Edwin Knowles 1929I’ve heard people say that they’ve used spaghetti squash as a substitute for pasta.  My family doesn’t really even like it with butter and parmesean cheese, so I’m thinkin’ they won’t go for pasta sauce either. I don’t cook it often, since it’s not a family favorite,  but, I love it!  I love the texture and the fact that it’s a veggie – it’s like a little surprise when you take it out of the oven and shred it into a plate.  yum.

What vegetable makes you happy?

2 thoughts on “Makes Me Happy Monday : Spaghetti Squash

  1. I have always, since childhood, loved, I mean LOVED, yellow crookneck/summer squash. I love it sauteed with onions and some seasonings until it’s tender. I can eat it until I burst. By extension, I love zucchini as well, especially sliced lengthwise and thin, lightly sprayed with olive oil, dusted with ital seasoning, and either broiled or grilled. Heaven. I am, sadly, the only one in my family with this little love affair with squash. Sigh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

