What time do you get up?

I often have people ask me about the time of day that I blog or check in on Facebook.  I’m on-line long before most people wake up. I go to bed early and get up early.  No … earlier than that.

About seven or eight years ago, I read on-line about a mom who would go to bed with her little ones, set her clock and get up really early.  She would get up and work on craft projects before anyone else in the house awoke.

At the time, I was really struggling with getting up in the morning.  My older kids were still under ten and woke up early, but I always struggled to get up (especially with a smile on my face) because I always stayed up late at night, thus, I was tired in the morning. I started my day angry for being woken up when I was sleepy.  I always felt like I woke up in a state of “behind.”  And I often required a mid-day nap.

I had prayed for years for God to change my nature.  I felt like a night owl in a house full of early birds.

After I read this article, I had an ah-ha moment. I knew this would work for me.  So, I began putting down my youngest and going to bed shortly after her.

Now I lay me down to sleep ...

My life dramatically changed. I was able to balance my checkbook daily, check my e-mail, read the morning newspaper and pay bills before the day began.  I had time to read the Bible and spend some time doing what I wanted to do, before everyone hit the floor.  I often made cards, wrote letters or scrapbooked.  When my children got up, I was ready for them.

My children are older now.  Now, my youngest is the age that my oldest were when I began this routine. I put Joy to bed between 8:00 to 8:30 and then head to bed, as well.  There ARE days, when I’m a little extra tired, I go on to bed at 7:30 to 8:00 and someone else puts her to bed.

I used to feel the need to sleep ten hours a night.  I’ve heard that the hours before midnight “count” as two hours rested.  I believe that since I generally only get six (to seven) hours of sleep a night. I generally get up between 3:00 and 3:30.  Yes.  In the morning. And I don’t take many naps anymore.

When people ask, “WHAT do you do at that time of day?,”  I laugh.  I do the same thing they do late at night, the only difference is that I’ve flipped it around and I do it at the START of my day, not the end.

So, if you’re wondering about my post times: they’re real.  Yes, I’m up early.  And I’m rested and ready for the day – because I went to bed early the night before.

How about you?  Are you a night owl or a morning person?
What time do you go to bed and get up?

4 thoughts on “What time do you get up?

  1. I used to live like what you describe — getting up around 4:30 or 5:00 am for all of the same reasons you’ve mentioned. But, as I get older, I find it much harder to rise so early. Also, as my children get older, I find that I’m staying up much later — waiting for them to get home from work, or attending Away basketball or football games that keep us out late, etc. It seems to be harder and harder to “be early to bed and early to rise.” I wonder how you manage to continue to carve out a schedule that is so counter to our culture?

    Like

Leave a Reply

