Makes Me Happy Monday : Angelina Purse

For my Makes Me Happy Monday post, I thought I’d share my latest purse with you.

One of my favorite local stores, Blue Magnolia, sells these purses in the Time and National Geographic magazine versions. The purse is actually made from multiple pages from the magazine with the outermost and innermost being laminated and then stitched together to form a “bag.”  This one even has a handy pocket stitched inside and great, strong grommets for the strap to run through.

I think these are just SO much fun!  Being the tightwad that I am, I was thrilled to come across a Vogue magazine version second hand a month or so ago.

Not being a celebrity buff, I didn’t even KNOW who the chick was on the purse, I just thought she was striking.

Angelina Jolie on my Vogue magazine hand bagI have to admit, though, that I’ve struggled a bit.  She’s awfully sexy …. lots of people comment on the purse …. men and women alike.  And I wonder: Is she too much?  Is the image too racy?  If Vogue wants to put her on a magazine cover, that’s one thing.  But, if I’m walking around town with her beautiful image laminated on my hand bag, that’s another.  Am I causing a man to stumble by carrying this recycled magazine over my shoulder?  I’m not sure.

I’ve actually asked multiple friends about this.  So far, the consensus is that she’s attractive and the purse is striking, but, no, it’s not “too much.”

So, right now, I’m loving this purse.  It’s fun,  eye-catching and whimsical….
a great summer purse, for sure, and it makes me happy.

So, let me ask you a question: what do you think?  Is it too risque?
And, of course, what makes YOU happy this marvelous Monday morning?

7 thoughts on “Makes Me Happy Monday : Angelina Purse

  1. Hi there! I found your blog via Chad’s 12 of 12 listing — I normally do 12 of 12 too (well, I did all of last year), but I’ve only made it one month this year. Anyway, I live in Augusta too and I love, love, LOVE Blue Magnolia and I know the National Geographic bags. I have never seen them do Vogue bags! So cheers to you for getting this bag. It’s so unusual and creative that I don’t think it’s too risque at all, though I admit I’d feel a bit like all eyes were on me by carrying it too. If nothing else, it would be lovely to display in your home somehow.

    Anyway, nice to “meet” a fellow Augustan.

    Like

    1. Allison,
      I saw your 12 of 12 entry and knew you were here in town. So nice of you to drop by my blog. Maybe we’ll have the pleasure of meeting some time.

      -karen

      Like

  2. Hi there,

    I want you to know that I have been thinking about this a lot and thinking about what I should say. I must confess that your bag made me a little angry when you came here for Michael’s graduation. You talk about being modest in Target, but you’re not looking right on your arm. If you think that slits on the side of your bathing suit cover up are immodest and distracting to men, why wouldn’t your purse be also? Honestly, I don’t see how you see that is appropriate. She is very beautiful, I know, but that’s no reason to go flaunting her beauty in public, even if she does. I sincerely hope I don’t offend you by “calling you out” on this, but I hope you will hear what I’m saying

    Thank you, and you and your family are in our prayers

    ~Naomi

    Like

Leave a Reply

