Swim/Bike/Run

Well, tomorrow is the day.

transition area (credit: flickr: darvoid http://www.flickr.com/photos/9495662@N03/3709023055/)I’m a little nervous – but hope I won’t C R Y (what WAS that????) like I did at the BRAG ride!!

I’m not highly competitive so this isn’t about beating anyone, or even placing in my age group.  My goal is always the same: Finish … without injury.

I’m not a heavy trainer.  I haven’t actually done each part of the event back to back.  I have not ridden the bike route.  I haven’t been swimming in open lake water since my last triathlon a few years ago.

But, I have been a consistent trainer.  I’ve been moving every day for months.  Some days I run in the morning and belly dance at night.  Some days I ride my bike.  Some days I run in the morning and swim in the afternoon.

I know I can do each individual part of the race/event.  My swim stroke is pretty strong, but I’ve come to realize that my kick is not very efficient … which is totally crazy because my leg muscles are stronger than my arms.  Glory and her lifeguard friends have been giving me some instruction.  I’m doing a little better, but I won’t be the first fish out of the water.

Can you tell I’m nervous?

I bought a new swim suit yesterday.  Speedo suits are quite pricey, but I went into Dicks at the right time and found one marked down (to $24.97) that would ring up  50% off at the register.  So, I got a $50. suit for $12.50!!  I’m going to run in it this morning  and see if I can pull it off.  I’ve love to be able to wear  just the suit for the entire event.  We’ll see.

I’ve had a few people from school say they may come watch me race.  My sweet Glory and Joy will be there.  And I hope that James will make it.   So, if I stumble, I’ll have an audience.  ouch.

All that having been said, I’m very excited.  I know I can do it.  Transition will be a little tough, but I’m ready.  I’m glad that I’ve set this as a goal for myself.  It’s exciting to set a goal and reach it.  I’m looking forward to tomorrow!

Say a prayer for me.  Tomorrow morning at 8:00 am, I’ll be listening for an air horn and getting ready to make a splash!

I’ll let you know how it goes.

One thought on “Swim/Bike/Run

Leave a Reply

