Fake Nails aren’t worth it

Since as early as fifth grade,
I can remember kids at school telling me that my hands
look like “old lady hands.”

And my nails don’t generally grow very long.
If they were a bit longer and more beautiful,
I think they would make my hands look a little more acceptable.

I have some friends who have their nails done.
They have beautiful hands.
They always have.
For as long as I can remember.
I look at their hands with a tinge of jealousy.
Because their hands are definitely what mine are not.

So, I did it.
A few months ago, I decided to go to a salon
and have my nails done.

I found myself looking at my nails often.  Though my HANDS weren’t beautiful, the nails made them look so much better.  It was such a nice treat to be proud of my hands for a change.

But, I have to admit that the cost bothered me. In our area, set of nails runs about $35.00 to $40.00.
And I had my nails done in the spring.  My nails grow incredibly fast in the spring and summer.  They looked bad within ten days.  They HAD to be touched up within two weeks ….. at the MOST.

So, there I was spending $35.00 three times a month …. to have pretty nails.
That’s a LOT of money to pay for vanity. Not to mention the two hour chunk of time that I had to slice out of my day to have them done ….. every ten days. And for me, there was even discomfort.  The last time I went into the salon, the girl said it was time to take them off and start over. To be honest with you, it hurt.  I kept telling the girl that it hurt, but she assured me that it shouldn’t.  I finally said, “It feels like you’re pulling each nail off the nail bed.”  She  comforted me that she wasn’t.

By the time she got all the nails off, I was worn out.  I decided to let my natural nails have a rest before putting imitation back on.

Just two days later, I realized that about half my nails were eaten up with nail fungus.  At least half my nails had fungus under a good portion of the nail.  I have to admit that I didn’t take a photo …. who wants a photo of their “old lady hands” with nail fungus under the nails?? HA

But, as the days ticked by, my nails were healing … and growing.  And as they grew, what looked like fungus, was disappearing.  I didn’t have fungus at all.  The nail tech really HAD pulled my nails from the nail bed.  *ouch*  No wonder it had hurt so badly!

Since that whole ordeal, I’ve thought a lot about
the price of we are willing to pay for vanity
the things that we do to bring our bodies
to what we interpret as being
an acceptable or beautiful place in the eyes of the world.
I’ve thought even more about
covering gray hair
plucking, tweezing and waxing,
fake vs real,
plastic surgery (as my nose is certainly not small),
what a beautiful body looks like
and why these things
do or don’t
matter
from God’s perspective and
in the realm of eternity.
I can’t say that I’ve come to a point of a new, deeper perspective.  I’ve just been thinking a lot about it all. 
For now, here are my hands … in all of their natural beauty …. the way that God made them …. without artificial adornment …. with healthy, real nails.
For now, I’ve decided that
fake nails aren’t worth the trouble and expense required for upkeep.

So, May I Ask You a Question? What do you think?
What is your opinion of natural vs adorned, embellished, altered or artificial?

Leave a Reply

