Seek Peace

One by one, I unwrap the season
…. ornament and sparkle, bauble and trinket.
Every year, there are at least one or two new purchases
…. an ornament bought frugally after the One Who is Born
is no longer marketable in stores
and so He is discounted, up to 70% off.

I realize as I unwrap the decorations,
that last year’s ornaments are adorned with words ….
similar to the year’s before
and yes, even the one before.
And I notice a theme.
Most of these ornaments have the same word etched, painted or drawn upon them:  “peace”

I have been hunting for years.

This realization comes only hours after sharing with a friend a verse that
excited me
and comforted me
all at once.
Yes, as she dropped off her daughter to play with Joy for a bit,
I skipped and bounced out to the street with my Bible in hand …
“Read,” I plead.  “The last line …. READ it!!”

five    …   short    ….    words

From my “15 minutes” of Bible reading from the morn before:

Psalm 34:14  Seek peace and pursue it.

Webster says:

Seek:  to go in search of; look for, to strive for; try to obtain, to go, or explore.
– I see movement. We can’t sit on our fanny and expect it to surround us. We must scour our surroundings, till the hard earth, we must mount the pinnacle until it is found.

Peace: a state of quiet or tranquility, freedom from disturbance or agitation, calm, repose. absence or cessation of war, a state of reconciliation after strife, spiritual content.
– I see the countenance of contentedness in spite of the turmoil and chaos of living life.

Pursue: to follow in an attempt to overtake or capture, to make effort to attain or gain, to follow persistently, to advance along a course , path, plan or direction.
– I see an explorer with eyes that are fixated on the path or the object of infatuation.

Do you see it? Peace doesn’t come to us, we must seek it …
look for it,
dig
search
pursue.

Peace is an activity.
Peace takes intention.
Peace requires effort to be attained.
And, yes, Peace is also a Person.

And once we know we do not have it, if we want it, we must put forth effort to acquire it.
And once we know we do not have Him, if we want Him, we must put forth effort to acquire Him.
There is a path, a direction. We must set our eyes upon it … and Him.

Like Jesus spoke in parables, paralleling the spiritual and physical worlds, God convicts and teaches me through similar daily events.

But, oh the joy.
It isn’t a goal out of our reach.
It is attainable.
It is doable.
Finding peace can be done.

As my decorations lay on my dining table in a chaotic jumble,
… with unseasonably cold temps outside,
outdoor foliage has been brought indoors to keep from freezing
and is forced into corners that were once uncluttered,
… with the end of the quarter near,
economics, chapters 1,2,3,5,6,7,8,9 & 10 take priority,
… and I am behind in my computer class
because I’m so silly, silly slow.
… and the end of the quarter,
brings the presentation of a quarter long graphic design project.
… dishes, dust, dog hair
… smudges, ashes and laundry,
… bills, another trip to the shop for my dear van
…   and an out of town trip inching closer.

Yes among the daily chaos, the Spirit of Peace is Present.
Praise Him.

You have put gladness in my heart,
More than in the season that their grain and wine increased.
I will both lie down in peace and sleep
For You alone, o Lord,  make me dwell in safety.  Psalm 4:7&8

One thought on “Seek Peace

Leave a Reply

