A Year of Fellowship


This table isn’t often enough surrounded
with bellies to be filled
and souls to be pampered.

And this couch …
much too often sits empty …
idle even … of the job it was built to do.

I have been reading Ann’s blog, A Holy Experience, long enough to have seen her name at least two different years.  Last year was “The Year of Yes.”  It was exciting to know that she was letting go of some fears and making a decision to say “Yes” to things that God brought into her life.

So, this year, she has asked if any of her followers have a theme for the upcoming year?
What would we name our year? 

I have given this much thought. While I’m not one for a huge list of New Year’s resolutions (because the bigger the list, the more likely I am to fail in every area).  I do, however, like to consider the last year and plan for changes in the next.

And I’ve learned a few things in the past few years that are very important to making changes. One important thing is that it isn’t enough to decide to make a change, you must make a provision for the change to happen.  You have to find a way to add the action into your life in a way that it will not be such a hinderance that you will choose not to include it.

It wasn’t enough for me to say I wanted to read my Bible everyday.  I had to figure out a way to do it that I could be consistent and even – being a list-maker – be able to SEE that I was being faithful. So, my 15 minutes a day” is working and I now have a book to keep track of what I have read.  I made a provision for my new habit.

For years, I have felt a need to have people into our home more often.  I have talked about it … and probably blogged about it … but it just hasn’t happened. At one point, I said that I wanted to have visitors over after church AT LEAST one Sunday a month. But, there is A.L.W.A.Y.S some reason that it doesn’t happen.

So, this year, feeling this desire even stronger than ever, will be

a Year of Fellowship.

Like my Victory List, I don’t want to get bogged down in the legalism of “ONE PER WEEK” to the point that there is stress. So, my goal, in fact, to have 52 people/groups into our home this year. And I know that some weeks, we just won’t be able to fit in a visit. This week, I already have plans for two different breakfast visitors.  So, I’m on my way!  Whoohoo!

I can tell you …
this one will be very, very hard for me.
I’m not really good with fellowship.
I’m always thinking about things I need “to do.”
I’m definitely a Martha, not a Mary.
As much as I want to be “in the moment,”
I’m usually thinking three moments ahead.
I must slow down.

So, I’m going to try.
I’m publicly sharing my goal …
my desire to spend my year in fellowship.
I want to focus on people.
I want to draw them in….
one at a time …
or in small groups.
Yes. fellowship

Have you thought about the new year?
Do you set goals or make new year’s resolutions?
May I ask you a question:  What is your theme for the year 2011?
How will you live your life differently
in order to make it more like you would like it
or more like you believe would glorify God?

18 thoughts on “A Year of Fellowship

  1. 10 years ago our friends Aubrey and Alicia began the Sunday Lunch Group. Their oldest daughter was in college just far enough away to not live at home but close enough to come home each weekend if she wanted to. Alicia quickly found out from Emily how “poor” college kids are and how rarely they eat well on Sundays. With a desire to minister and see her daughter every weekend she began to cook for Emily’s friends. The only rule? That the kids had to go to church before they came. Most there were Emily’s age but Alicia also invited a few young couples that they wanted to minister to. She cooks enough for 15 people but sometimes fewer show. 10 years later, she has married off not only both her daughters but most of those who began with the whole idea. Now, most of us there are just old or new dear friends of Aubrey and Alicia’s. When all together there are no more than 15, sometimes as few as 6 but regardless it’s always an incredible time. This Christmas, realizing that Alicia’s range was conking out, past and present Sunday Lunchers got together and presented them with a 1200.00 check to replace it – that way, each time she cooks, she thinks of all of us she’s ministered to over all these years and how we love them. You are wise to want to add more fellowship to your life, MJF and I talk about it every year and never seem to make it happen. But you are also right to realize you have to provide a way. I am hoping knocking a hole in my wall between my living room and kitchen will make ME want to have more people over. I have started inviting the 20 somethings that come to our home to teach our kids music lessons to stay after to eat. It’s been a great opportunity to impart our years of living into their short little lives. I hope that you see your goal come to fruition this year. It looks like you have started well. Love you.

    Like

    1. Oh, my. That’s so exciting to hear. I would love for my home to be like this. And, it COULD be … if I could just put “stuff” behind me and put “people” first. Goal. goal. goal.
      Thanks for sharing, Karen.

      Like

  2. Thanks for sharing once again Karen. I always enjoy reading your, May I ask you a question?

    Hebrews 13:16 says, But do not forget, to do good, and to share, for with such sacrifices God is well pleased. I am so thankful that He honors those who honor HIM and HIS WORD.

    Your question today reminds me of Romans 12:4 For as we have many members in one body, and all members have not the same office:
    12:5 So we, being many, are one body in Christ, and every one members one of another.
    12:6 Having then gifts differing according to the grace that is given to us, whether prophecy, let us prophesy according to the proportion of faith;
    12:7 Or ministry, let us wait on our ministering: or he that teacheth, on teaching;
    12:8 Or he that exhorteth, on exhortation: he that giveth, let him do it with simplicity; he that ruleth, with diligence; he that sheweth mercy, with cheerfulness.
    12:9 Let love be without dissimulation. Abhor that which is evil; cleave to that which is good.
    12:10 Be kindly affectioned one to another with brotherly love; in honour preferring one another;
    12:11 Not slothful in business; fervent in spirit; serving the Lord;
    12:12 Rejoicing in hope; patient in tribulation; continuing instant in prayer;
    12:13 Distributing to the necessity of saints; given to hospitality.
    Happy New Year! Love ya girl.

    Like

  3. What a great theme for the year! I think we may do the same this year. So don’t be surprised, if you and your family are one of the
    people/groups to come into our home.

    Like

    1. I know!! I want it to be wonderful and comfortable and sweet and tender … and I struggle! I’m UP and DOWN to get things. I want to be engaged in conversation but I’m distracted by burning bread! I wonder, “Should we play a game?” or “What do I say next?” “Did I forget something?” “Is the bathroom still clean?” “Oh, there’s a cobweb!” “I should dust that” ….. aarrggh …. it’s really hard work!!
      But, it’s such a blessing. It means so much. So few people have an open, swinging, welcoming door. I want MINE to be THAT house. I want people to feel comfortable here. I’m working on it! I’ve already had THREE visitors this year! woot! Try it, Bethany! Just once a month? Or even every other month for 2011? It’s a stretch but good for the soul.

      Like

  4. My theme for this year would have to be “change”. I feel God leading me to make much change in this year, and up until recently the thought of choosing a school to transfer to, or simply choosing a major in school that will fit my goals and personality has caused stress and breakdowns for me, but! now I’m excited. I see God moving more now that the time gets closer. It’s also teacher me patience.

    Like

    1. It’s exciting to hear that you’re conquering fears/nerves. Praise God. I can’t wait to see what the year brings for you, sweet girl.
      And yes, Nina, you DO need to come for a visit. *winks* Stay with me … not her. teeeheee

      Like

Leave a Reply

