Makes Me Happy Monday : Breathing

She set her clock for 5:45. She showered at 6:00. We left home by 7:15.
We ran through the Chick-fil-A drive-thru line
since the line was small – amazing.
I prayed for her through red lights, as I neglected to pray before we left home.
With a full backpack and a mesh bag crammed with locker supplies,
she crawled out of the van
looked back at me and said, “It’s going to be okay, Mom.”
She knows.
My eyes filled with tears
and I was reminded again
that I am dropping her off to be mentored and instructed by strangers.
I am a single mom.
I can no longer homeschool AND provide for us.
This is the only time I become angry or sad about being alone ;  when it involves my children.

While in south Georgia last week, I found myself in a coffee shop
on the square in downtown Bainbridge.
I perused the shelves of coffee paraphernalia as I waited on my friend
and found myself laughing out loud when I saw this cup:

I remember a day not so long ago
when I had a dear friend text me,
another friend verbally tell me
and a third friend write on my Facebook wall:
“breathe.”

It takes a lot to upset me, but when the stack gets tall and begins to topple,
it’s nice to have a friend there to remind me to –
“breathe.”

Yes, breathing is good. This morning, I had to remind myself to breathe.
This morning, I looked at my new cup and gave thanks
for friends who know me well enough that they can feel the tension in my voice
without my having to even share verbally
that I’m tense, worried or upset.

Yes, coffee cup reminders,  dear friendships and breathing
make me happy.
What makes YOU happy this Monday morning?

7 thoughts on “Makes Me Happy Monday : Breathing

  1. OH, I like to breathe too….keeps me sane. LOL I think that is why I like yoga so much….LOTS and LOTS of breathing. Same thing for us here…dropping the kiddo off at school. Still one at home though. I feel it is going to be a good year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

