Not So Sweet-and-Easy

I love it when God guides me through His Holy Spirit.
It’s so wonderful when He directs me to
go back and offer to help someone broken down on the side of the road.
I love to pray for people when I feel led …
I’ll just lay my hand on their shoulder right there in the grocery store
or parking lot
and offer up their struggle or affliction to my Lord.
There are times when He tells me to pick up some little gift
and share it with someone unexpectedly.
Or I might feel the direction to send a card to someone
that says “thank you”
or email a photo to a friend or acquaintance
because it reminds me of them.

These are all the
sweet-and-easies.

It’s the time like THIS that I struggle and hem and haw and fidget
and argue
and try to talk Him out of His direction.

Let me tell you a story.

I went to Cairo for a visit this summer. I had looked here and there for a strapless bra but been unable to find one. I had a dress that required one … so Della & I ran by a store in Cairo while we were out running errands one afternoon. *boom* There it was! Grabbed a bra to try on ….
and got distracted by this pretty long dress hanging on a rack I had to pass to get to the dressing room. I’m a sucker for dresses … especially l.o.n.g ones. By the time I got out of the dressing room, Della had already picked up the same style dress in a different color
and was paying for it.
We BOTH loved the dress.

I’ve worn it over and over … with sandals to church and with cowboy boots to the high school class reunion weekend football game.

I wear it to shop and run errands … well … I wear it all the time. I’ve thought about making it a feature on Makes Me Happy Monday.

I wore it last Sunday to church when Stone and Jet came for a visit. After Stone & Jet headed home Sunday, I was sitting at the picnic table on the porch with my big kids ….
when James said, “Hey, Mom. You’ve got spillage. You need to take care of that.”
Evidently, too much bosom was showing.
I’m SO intent on embracing when I am called out
especially by my own SON …
that I can’t just ignore this.
Modesty matters.

So, here I am
with my current fav.o.rite dress
and a burden that I will be walking in disobedience of a conviction
– ie, grieving the Holy Spirit  …. *ouch* –
if I continue to wear this dress.

So, I decide to ask Stone about it. *raises brows and nods head* A second opinion … Yeah!! … that’s what I need. He was there earlier in the day. He would know if this dress is immodest. He tells me …
he didn’t notice. And I’m floored.
He’s told me more than once about working to use self-control in his life …
renewing his mind …
training himself …
and
I am thankful
and surprised that
he didn’t even notice
because he says he didn’t look …
because he has trained his eyes
to keep from being tempted.
He continues to amaze and bless me.

But, if my son had a problem with the dress, I need to consider his opinion.  Stone offers the suggestion that I could add a shirt underneath it. I realize that I do have a cammie that would work with this dress. It’s not what I WANT to do … but I know he’s right. And what is more important? Doing what I want to do because I love the way the dress looks and it’s only a little “peek-a-boo” every     once      in      a      while      …..
or modeling modesty for my girls
and walking out my words
of desiring to be held accountable by my son?

So, I wore the cammie this weekend in Athens.
It wasn’t what I WANTED to do,
but I knew that it was what I needed to do.

And I thought about God and His love and our obedience and submitting to others and immodesty and selfishness and men and protection and self-control and gifts and doing the right thing.

And, while wearing a camisole is not as gratifying as sending a homemade card to a friend or neighbor
I know that it’s probably
much more important.

7 thoughts on “Not So Sweet-and-Easy

  1. “Our” dress is too low cut for my taste, too. Simple fix. I’ve permanently pinned it with a hidden safety pin. As crafty as you are, you could stitch it down. No more modesty issues and no more compromises with a cami. “Our” dress stands alone . . . it doesn’t need a cami.

    Like

  2. Beautiful dress! I like it with the cami. I’d suggest trying to find a cami that pulls out one of the beautiful colors in the dress. or follow Della’s example and pin it!

    You’re right — doing the right thing is not always easy.

    Like

  3. Thanks, Elizabeth. And I knew the font was too small I just couldn’t get it to go any larger than it was. I had to have someone help me with the coding. I knew where to FIND it, but not how to CHANGE it. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

