“Good” Things

Martha Stewart made famous the phrase, “It’s a good thing,”
and I have an affection for the expression.
It is an excellent phrase to punctuate
and accentuate
something lovely.

Scripture tells us to
Give thanks to the LORD, for He is good. His love endures forever. Psalm 136:1

I’ve mentioned before that I take note when a phrase or word crosses my path more than once.

While in Atlanta on a recent visit with Stone, we went by Discover Mills Mall. There were encouraging phrases written on the curtains/walls.
This one caught my eye … I so liked it that I had Joy snap a photo of me under it.

Yesterday afternoon, while sitting on the deck with my sweet Daddy on his birthday,
my handsome brother, that I see too seldom
and Dad’s long-time friend and neighbor, Russ ….
I found myself with a beautiful koozie reminding me that

“Too much of a good thing
can be wonderful.”

I believe that an ungirding principle in the Bible is that most things are best in moderation,
but, surely,
we can have an overabundance of
“Good” things
and it be wonderful.

If the “good” things are  worldly things …
tangible things
like food or money, house or cars, clothes or “stuff,”
we know that there is such a thing as “too much” or “too many.”

But, if the good things are “Good” things,
meaning the intangible presence of God,
there is no such thing as “overabundance” …
at least, not in my opinion.

I want as much of Him as I can handle.
I want all the love, mercy and compassion,
peace, patience and self-control,
faithfulness, joy, kindness  ….  goodness
that He will offer …
shower upon me …
and truly, I want even more than I can handle
that I can grow and be stretched and strained
to become more like Him.
So, the phrase of the week for me is “Too much of a “Good” thing
can be wonderful.

I will meditate here
and watch for Him.

May your life be filled to overflowing
with His blessings, His presence, His Goodness
during this holiday season.

You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.  Psalm 23:5

2 thoughts on ““Good” Things

Leave a Reply

