Makes Me Happy Monday : Joy

When you place an order at Starbucks, the barista asks you for your name.
They write your name on your cup as they prepare your beverage
and then call your name when your drink is ready.
If I remember right, my sweet friend, Sarah, tells them she is “Princess”
because she is one.

I thought about what name I would love to be called.
What word would I love to hear a barista call out in that lovely coffee house atmosphere.
What word would fit with the earthen tone walls, low light and lilting music?
“Joy” was the word that immediately came to mind.
And that is my desire. I want to be Joy. I want to be a blessing.
At Starbucks … at home …. at the mall … with friends.

And doesn’t the word work well with Starbucks? Because, they aren’t so much selling coffee
as “an experience.”  When you enter their establishment, there is an atmosphere that is somewhat unique
(though, being replicated more and more often).
Joy, Calm, Peace, Comfort … all fitting words for their environment.

I have to admit that I go there seldom.
I’m much too frugal to spend $5.00 on a cup of coffee very often.
But, when I do visit, I do not run through their drive through.
I go inside the store. I place my order. I sit down and enjoy my beverage.
I savor my time there as relaxation in a wild world
that lies just outside those thin plate-glass windows.

Pumpkin Spice Cappuccino Starbucks coffee in a paper cup marked Joy
makes me happy this Monday morning.

What makes you happy this marvelous Monday morning?

Leave a Reply

