It is what it is

The next four days will be quiet. My Smudge-man and I will be the only two at home.


After two decades of movement, laughter, tension, joy, strife and everyday-normal-life activity,
my home will be consistently quiet and still for four straight days …
less the noise and movement that the cat and I create.

I have only slept here alone a few times.
Even then, Dulcie kept me company and offered protection.
But, even she is gone now.

Things are now different.

It’s an odd place to be.

Joy will board a bus at 1:30 today to travel with her school to the University of Georgia in Athens for two full days of orchestra instruction. Glory and James  and even Dulcie … all live in another place now.


There is this vision that we all have … of what things “should” look like. Everybody has a slightly different version of what they expect in life. Even scripture backs up my tainted vision; you marry, you have children, you raise them, you stay married, you grow old together … at least, that’s the way that I read the words.

And this vision, this storybook idea that God’s word even paints
is tainted
by sin … our wayward hearts
that lead us in directions
that are not always “the best.”

I have a hard time reckoning what I see in real-time
with what I saw in my imagination.

 

I hear the words over and over … printed on t-shirts, from the mouth of friend,
from the lips of a stranger, through speakers on a radio, printed on jewelry ….
“It is what it is.”
And I know that I know that there is nothing happening in my life that is a surprise to God.
It didn’t surprise Him when Eve offered Adam disobedience cloaked in the skin of fruit.
It didn’t surprise Him when Adam indulged having been warned previously by God Himself.
And my being alone after 25 years of marriage doesn’t surprise Him.

David tells us in the Book of Psalms (139:2-8)

You know when I sit and when I rise;
you perceive my thoughts from afar.
You discern my going out and my lying down;
you are familiar with all my ways.
Before a word is on my tongue
you, Lord, know it completely.
You hem me in behind and before,
and you lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
too lofty for me to attain.

Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?
If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.

He knows me. He knows my thoughts.
He knows my situation. He knows my disappointments.
There is nothing that happens to me that surprises Him.
And He knows you. He knows your thoughts.
He knows your situation. He knows your disappointments.
There is nothing that happens to you that surprises Him.

So, while my life doesn’t look like my vision from year’s past,
I live each day with joy
knowing that my situation is a gift ….
it was allowed by God …
and through my situation
I am drawn closer to Him …
to rely on Him.

So, yes, “It is what it is.”
And it is because He has allowed it.

I will find the blessing, rather than focus on the still and quiet that was not my vision.
I look forward to four days of independence.
I can come and go as I please.
I can eat what I want, when I want.
I can ride my bike, run and craft for as long as I want.
I can play my music loud … go to the mall … have company ….
go to the movies or sit at home and read in my pj’s ….

And you? Has there been a death of a vision?
He knew it was coming and He allowed it.
I encourage you to find joy in the day …
contentment in the present … peace in the now.
While “it” is not what we expected,
what we envisioned or even desired …
“It is what it is” and
He wants to use it to draw you to Him

… and that
is a good thing.

3 thoughts on “It is what it is

  1. I know people who have spent almost 15 years failing to recognize their loss as allowed by God in such a way as you have. (and as we have). They have damaged relationships, they have damaged children, they have damaged their witness. They angrily cling to church for whatever reason, maybe thinking that some day it will all become some lightening bolt realization but it won’t. They have lost blessed opportunities to minister b/c they didn’t think they deserved to experience what they did. We all have visions based on lofty ideals that don’t assume the sin of others or even ourselves as affecting those visions. We all, at some point, make assumptions about who God is that aren’t biblical and about who we are that not only are not biblical but are delusional. There is no more blessing than to understand our place in God’s economy and therefore be able, regardless of what comes our way, to enjoy the richness of all He has to offer, every day. You are rich, very rich friend. I am thankful that you walked in obedience and found joy in all He has allowed. A beautiful post my friend….Oh, and what I wouldn’t give for 4 days of quiet… 🙂
    love you,
    K

    Like

    1. Thank you, friend.
      And it isn’t that I won’t E.N.J.O.Y this time …
      it is just that I never expected to have it so early in my life.
      Enjoy your days … just as they are … they are painted with the brush of God’s glory and choice.

      Like

Leave a Reply

