Day 1 : Thankful for Voting

I chose to take advantage of early voting. I was afraid if I waited until election day to vote, some.thing  might come up that had the potential to keep me from getting to the polling place. What if the day started late, I found that I had to make a run to Joy’s school, I had a fever, was responsible for carpool and it rained all day? What if I twisted my ankle running, had a big kid who needed a listening ear for a few hours or had car trouble? What if the lines were so long that it took several hours to get to the booth? I just didn’t want to risk it.

So, I went early.
.
This was Glory’s first Presidential election. I went with her on election day to walk her through the wonderful process. While we heard that they had a steady flow of people throughout the morning, the room was fairly empty when we visited.

I’m so thankful to live in this country
where we have the opportunity to cast a vote
for the men and women who represent us in our government
at the local, state and national level.
.
I’ll admit that I don’t understand how there is such a disconnect in the eyes of the people
between the current peril in our country and the people who are running it.
I hear time and time again, “It’s not Obama’s fault.”
People defend him like he is a first cousin or a brother … like they p.e.r.s.o.n.a.l.l.y  know his character.
Well … if our economy was bustling
and unemployment was minuscule,
taxes were being lowered and
our country’s indebtedness was being paid down …
would we hear, “Oh, no. Obama doesn’t get credit for that.”
Sadly, I do not think so.
I am a firm believer in accepting responsibility for
all of our actions – right and wrong  … positive and negative … good and bad.
.
So, that very short rant
really isn’t about Obama at all … it is about our country  as a whole
and the people who comprise it as individuals.
I fear we are moving deeper into a culture of blame
rather than one where each man, woman and child accepts
personal responsibility for their own actions.
I hear it in conversation when I am around strangers,
I hear it from acquaintances and friends
and I hear it coming from the mouth of some in my own family.
That having been said, we still have the right to vote.
In other countries, citizens are not asked whom they would prefer in charge.
Our government is run
by men and women who were chosen to have their positions.
And so, I give thanks to be a part of this country
where my vote counts.
.
Day 1: I am thankful for the opportunity to vote.
2 thoughts on “Day 1 : Thankful for Voting

  1. Loved every word of this because I often speak it and constantly think it. Thanks for posting this unemotional take on what so many Americans, nearly half of the voting population, feel and believe to be true. That immediate gratification and total lack of personal responsibility seems to be prevalent across demographic groups. How’s this for an example…my BFF was rear ended last week on a street inside our small, gated, age restricted community and the woman claimed she didn’t do it…with their cars still touching! Hard to believe; scary in its implications for the future.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Bev. I’m not real “learned” in politics … but I think I have some amount of common sense .. and I certainly take “personal responsibility” seriously. It’s a fearful thing to look at a great deal of our society today and grasp exactly where they stand on many topics. The future … is surely … uncertain.

      Like

Leave a Reply

