Makes Me Happy Monday: Kitchen Storage

He hated to do dishes at our house.
HATED it.

He hated it because he said that it was too much work to put away the leftovers.
He always got frustrated because he said it was too hard to figure out which lid
fit which bottom.
So, he would often just resort to a ziploc bag out of laziness.

Because I was in the kitchen all the time and I remembered lids and bottoms,
it was no big deal for me.
I’m a pretty spatial/visual person, so I thought my system was good.
All the big lids were in a big storage box. Smaller lids were in round storage containers
that were mounted on the doors of the cabinet.
It worked well for me.

But ….  it made me sad. I didn’t know of any way to “fix it”
so it would work better.
And nobody else in the house had any let’s-try-it-this-way ideas!
What were the other options?
Through the years, I bought tupperware that nested and matched
so it would be easier to match.
That didn’t help.
Then I bought containers that were different in shape, size and color
so it would be more visually obvious.
Nothing was helpful.
I hated that my system was frustrating,
but I didn’t know what else to do.

Last summer, while visiting a friend’s house, I noticed that he
matched his lids and containers BEFORE putting them into his cabinet.
Honestly, seeing his cabinet was a Eureka! moment for me.
Then I thought this wasted SO much space!!
But, the more I thought about it, the more sense it made.
I’d lose a little cabinet space, but possibly gain a more efficient system.

I decided to make a change.

This change involved another facet of kitchen storage goodness.
Have you ever thought about the fact that the storing food in
ROUND containers in a SQUARE refrigerator wastes space?
And certain round containers are dome-shaped so they tip easy and don’t stack well when full.

If I was going to make a change, I was going to do it all the way.
So, one container at a time, I began to buy new storage containers
that were squares or rectangles.

Here’s the old system (on the right)
with a message that I posted on James’ Facebook wall back a few years ago
at the pinnacle of my frustration with him and his tupperware-cabinet phobia.

James' Ziploc Storage System

And here are the new storage containers! Yay!


DSC05901

At least once a week, James and Glory stop by for a visit and share a meal with Joy and I. On those days, I often send home leftovers with them. For this reason, I held onto some of the older containers (though …. I only kept the ones that were rectangle shaped!! LOL). This way, if they leave my house and don’t make it back, I’m not losing my new storage!


DSC05902

I’m here to tell you, I’m so pleased!

It’s funny how the little things can make you happy.
Blue skies after a week of cloudy gray,
a note in the mail from a friend
and a new way to store leftovers!

New food storage containers and a new cabinet organizing system
really me happy!

How about you? What makes YOU happy this marvelous Monday morning?

Leave a Reply

