Makes Me Happy Monday : Concentric Circles

A wee bit before Pinterest came along and offered us a quick and efficient visual bookmarking system,
I saw  THIS  pillow  on-line.
This image grabbed my attention … and made me s.w.o.o.n.
I tucked away the url for the site
and carried that beautiful image in my mind.
I chewed on how to use that inspiration in my own art.

I found myself talking about it to friends at least every few months.
And as I sewed together strips for my bohemian curtains  a month or so ago,
In my mind, I was reminded of that image of layered circles on a plush pillow.

Jane LaFazio calls her fabric creations Recycled Circles. 
She even sells a video on how to create them.
You can go here to watch a snippet and also to buy the DVD.
She also creates her circles with mixed media including watercolor. 
And  LOOK at these paintings.   LOOK at the depth! *swoons to a faint*

I LOVE watercolor … yet am fairly lost with that medium.
But, acrylic paint and I are friends.
So, I combined intricate pattern,
rich, earthy colors
and circles that are not evenly stacked
in acrylic paint
and came up with this.

It took me hours and hours and hours to finish this painting (I think between 18-24 hours),
but I am so throughly happy with it.

 

As spring inches near,
birds sing chirpy start-of-the-week songs
and pollen begins to drift through the air,
concentric circles
Make Me Happy.

What about you?
What makes YOU happy
this marvelous Monday morning?

3 thoughts on “Makes Me Happy Monday : Concentric Circles

  1. This is beautiful!! I love the colors, the textures, the style, the mood of the piece. It’s really wonderful! I’m thrilled that my work inspired you. thank you so much for all the mentions…….xoxo

    Like

  2. Yayyy! I’m so glad that you’re pleased, Jane. Your work is SUCH an inspiration. I DO wish I could work with watercolor paint and create, as well. Maybe in the future. 😀

    Thanks for stopping by.
    Many blessings,

    – K@ren

    Like

Leave a Reply

