Makes Me Happy Monday : Pattern

I love patterns. You can see that passion in much of my art.
My concentric circle artwork is an entire painting of patterns, layered one upon another.

Final painting - circles ... concentric ... nested
I see patterns everywhere. I hear them in words … and love alliteration.
I see them in life … in actions …. in nature.
And I snap photos to save the images

Pattern & Boots
for comfort and later inspiration.

4x4
Because, there really is something comforting about pattern, isn’t there?
You have seen the repetition so … you know what is coming.

Pattern in a painting
In relationships, you never know what is around the corner.
What is being hidden? What will come out later? What surprise will blind side you
and leave you wondering …. “What is next?”
Maybe that is the repetition? Once you are blindsided … you expect it again.
I believe it is Ann Lamott who said, “When people tell you who they are, believe them.”
I’ll be honest. The longer I live, the less I trust. And I think that it’s a good thing.
I’ve been too trusting of my heart, my life and with my future.Because I am honest, I expected others to be honest.
Because I am open, I expected others to be open.
It is hard to switch tracks after riding on the same route for so long,
but I’m working on it.
Fabric pattern
And I’m using repetition to make myself stronger.
Every time I ignore an unkind email, I become stronger.
Every time I stand up for myself, I feel more strength.
And every time I refuse to believe the lies that I have been told, I love myself more.
It is hard work, but it is worthy work.

Like Jesus spoke in parables, paralleling the spiritual and physical worlds, God convicts and teaches me through similar daily events.
I am choosing repetition in my life …..
beautiful patterns in the physical world
and gorgeous patterns in my emotional world, as well.
I hope that you are doing the same.

Yes, patterns make me wonderfully happy.
What makes you happy this marvelous Monday morning?

Leave a Reply

