Makes Me Happy Monday : Morning Runs

Drive to tow path

Why is it
that we sometimes put off doing those things
that enrich our lives so much
on so many different levels?

 

spider
I find myself feeling incredible guilt when I leave home.
In the last few years, I have only left home twice without my children.
I am a full-time, always-on-call parent.
I know what it’s like to be left behind.
That is not a feeling I want my kids to have.
So, I just don’t go away.
Even …. for a few hours …
which is totally dumb.

wood knots
It f.e.e.l.s so self-indulgent.
But, I know in my heart-of-hearts that it is necessary
for good mental health
and when it involves exercise,
it is also good for emotional and physical health.

Sunrise over the Savannah River

I have had some health issues this past year.
And I have had some minor joint discomfort for years.
So, I put off exercise.
Once I get out of the habit, it takes me a bit to get moving again.
Thanks to a friend’s determined persuasion,
I went out yesterday morning.

The sun breaking through the morning clouds

I went to the Savannah River and Augusta Canal to walk and run the dirt path.

I was there at daybreak. I was the third car in the parking lot.
It was lovely. 
pinecone and stick

I covered a full five miles of exercise
but spent the last half mile
picking up treasures and taking photos.
feather

And I kept wondering,
“Why don’t I just DO this?”
“Why do I put if off?”

dew

Natures nurtures me.
Dew. Water. Leaves. Spiders. Squirrels. Canada Geese by the dozens? Maybe hundreds?
I drink it all in and am refreshed.
water

And this morning, my blood pressure is down …. WAY down ….
after just ONE morning spent out with running shoes on and my spirit open to creation.

love

This morning, I am reminded
that a Sunday morning well-invested
can make a Monday very happy.
flowers for you

What activities nurture your soul? Feed your spirit? Invigorate your being?

canal
And what did you do this weekend
that makes you happy this marvelous Monday morning?

puddle

One thought on “Makes Me Happy Monday : Morning Runs

  1. This may sound crazy, but I spent some extra time cleaning my kitchen on Saturday! It’s not “spic and span”, but getting close! having things picked up and put away in my home always makes me feel relaxed and rejuvenated! Crazy, I know! I, too, had a walk before church. It was only about 10 minutes, but it made me feel SO much better for the rest of the day! I agree! We put off the things that make us feel better! BTW, I love you pictures today! Thank you for sharing them! God is a great decorator! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

