Smock Protection

When I was in Goodwill recently, I came across two oversized women’s shirts that were the same style and cloth pattern, but different colors.  I loved the paisley and the fact that there were several different patterns on each garment. Look at that pretty floral tucked under the collar! What a sweet surprise!

Multiple patterns - AND paisley! Yay!

And just LOOK at those pretty cuffs! *swoon*

Wonderful Liz Claiborne shirtsFor just a few dollars a piece, I knew I could use them for something.

Even if I cut them up and used them just for the fabric in some pieced together project, I knew they would make something wonderful. The fact that they were both very large was just an extra-fabric bonus.Liz Claiborne

Everything I own seems to be dabbled in paint. I have a little sliver of paint on every nightgown I own. My bathrobe has a spot of brown on the cuff. My favorite shorts have paint in several places. It gets everywhere …. even on things like my cutting/sewing board … which is not a good thing. One smear was enough for me to make some more intentional decisions about how close I allow paint to be to things that are special, antique or sentimental. Paint Splatters

And when my favorite dress ended up with a splash?  I remembered elementary school. Paint gets every.where

Do you remember when you were a child and you were asked to take one of your dad’s old dress shirts to school to protect your clothing from paint during art? (Those were the days when art was still valued and incorporated into school days.) As I urgently scrubbed brown paint off the front of my favorite dress, I thought about those two Liz Claiborne shirts and decided I needed to make a smock.

Since my sewing machine is now in an easy-to-get-to spot,My sewing space ...

I quickly cut apart the shirts and rearranged parts so that the two large shirts became one oversized smock that will easily cover almost every gown and always cover all short-sleeved shirts and shorts. I used the cuffs to add a little interest creating a false empire bodice at the waist. I cut off the sleeves and opened them up. They were used with the body of the green shirt to create the skirt at the bottom of the smock. The placket of the green shirt was added at the bottom of the placket of the coral shirt to give a continuous opening down the front of the smock.  My oversized smock/dress

I’ll have to admit that my youngest walked in from school and said, “Uhm….. you know you’re not allowed to wear that to the mall, right?” But, around the house to keep me from splashing paint on every article of clothing that own? That is acceptable.

I added a hook to a nook in bedroom. The hope is that I will see the smock hanging there and be encouraged to put it on more often.

My bedroom corner

This project took me an hour or so and will save so many articles of clothing from being demoted to “paint clothes.” It’s really a small thing, but it is another way that made time to do something creative. It feeds my soul and makes my life richer. And this particular project will prompt me to paint even more!

As the weekend approaches, I encourage you to carve out some time for yourself. Do something that makes your life richer. Nourish your soul with something enjoyable to give you energy for the week that will begin on Monday. This weekend, I’ll be camping deep in the woods. And this weekend, the woods should be beautiful! This will be the first time I’ve been inside a tent or on a trail in over two and a half years. It’s been way too long. I think my heart might just break wide open with joy! And, to be honest, I fear that I may not sleep well tonight because I am going to be so excited about tomorrow. What a splendid fear to anticipate.

Have a lovely weekend, friends!

3 thoughts on “Smock Protection

Leave a Reply

