Makes Me Happy Monday : Skin Comfort & Lace Socks

The first time I wore my lace socks with a dress, I was apprehensive. I knew it was a little bit out of the ordinary for a fifty year old woman … but I wanted to wear them any way.

I’ll have to admit I was a little bit uncomfortable that day …
NOT because I didn’t like the look …
but because I knew other people might not like it.

Lace socks and lace-up boots

Fast forward three years, I now have five or six different pair of lacy socks
and I wear them with my boots at least once a week.
I wear them with skirts, dresses and shorts.

And they make me so happy. My lace socks & bootsThey make me happy, in part,
because of what they represent.
They represent a sloughing away of
people pleasing. 

Sometimes I think, “Damn, this took a long time.”
I mean, uhm ….. I’m over fifty years old, for heaven’s sake!
Should it really take THIS long to get comfortable with yourself and be emotionally healthy?

We are all built different. Depending on our personality type, we struggle in different areas. I am highly empathetic, I care about other people’s feelings, motivations and desires .. and so, I care if they are mad at me, don’t like me or are hurt by me. The problem with this character trait is it causes us to put others feelings, motivations and desires above our own to a point that, we lose ourselves in trying to keep everybody around us comfortable. #disaster

Praise God, I’m not longer in an co-dependent, enabling relationship that keeps me fettered, smothered and witholding. I am learning to create healthy boundaries and not allow myself to be bullied or influenced in ways that are unhealthy for me.

"I was looking for someone to inspire me, motivate me, support me, keep me focused; someone who would effectively love me, cherish me, make me happy. Then I realized that all along I was looking for myself. ~ Alex " (Seen on @oceana_bze this morning.) Ya know, we all have a void and an emptiness that too many of us try to fill with people. We try to please our spouse, our parents, our friends, our lover, our boss, our children, our bully, our hater. But no two people have the same expectations. In pleasing people, we lose ourselves. Stop the pleasing. Look to God to fill our void and just be yourself. (You don't even have to perform to "earn" His love. He created you. He knows your messes. He loves when you're your genuine self …. and amazingly even when you wear a mask ) Be real. Be honest. Be authentic. Whoever you are, be that! Love yourself for who you were created to be RATHER THAN who you THINK someone else wants you to be. Be yourself and in doing that, you'll be grand. People that are grand are very easy to love.

A post shared by Karen Cason (@karen_lee_cason) on

My fun lacy socks, my awesome leather boots and my learning to love myself
make me so happy today!
What makes YOU happy this marvelous Monday morning?

4 thoughts on “Makes Me Happy Monday : Skin Comfort & Lace Socks

  1. Seeing your blog post makes me happy today! And working on the book project and drinking this chai latte smoothie. And knowing you are out there in the world and you are my friend.

    P.S. Did you choose a new type font? Looks different…and I like it.

    Like

    1. I changed the look of the page a little while back. Maybe it looks different from that? I’m not sure.
      And I’m so glad that you’re moving through your book project! Good job! Keep up the good work!
      I, too, am so thankful that you are my friend.

      Like

  2. Despite being a pretty confident woman, I still often lack the courage to step out of the way that others view me. This post reminds me that I still need to work on that. The new, old me is coming soon.

    Like

  3. It’s tough, isn’t it Jody? I think we are all changing and becoming something new. It only makes sense. If we aren’t, then we’re living our lives in a stagnant manner. Keep growing! Keep searching and exploring and looking. Step into that person that others might not think you should be … but that you know you already are! You can do it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

