Worry and Termites

The screened porch/breezeway to The Party Room/Mother-in-law suite

We don’t have a garage. Or a shed. Or a workshop. Or even a covered car port. We have a screened porch … with a large picnic table ….that is always covered with sockets, wrenches, wood, an open tool box, found objects, stuff that needs to go under the house in our little storage area and, if James is living with us, lots and lots of car parts.

On occasion (ie, when company is coming), I use the energy and motivation to clean things up out there. Of course, the vow is made to never let the screened porch get messy again …. but that is SO unrealistic for a creative, crafting, building, repairing bunch like us. The screened porch is our ONLY covered, outdoor space. So … it gets messy.

A month or so ago,  I was on the porch cleaning up before a guest’s arrival.

So, I was sweeping.  It was spider season here in Georgia. Yes, there is such a thing. Somewhere at the end of summer, spiders spin humongous webs that cross paths where people walk and others huddle in corners and create massive window nests. They fill these web homes with two or three or eighteen little balls of spider-baby-ball-sacks (I’m pretty sure that is the scientific word for them) that hatch in a few weeks so that we have millions and millions of new spiders for the next summer. I’m really not a spider-hater, but I have to admit, spiders were a little bit extreme this summer. They were everywhere!
But …. I digress…..
In sweeping, I began at the ceiling pulling down webs and spiders and cajillions of babies. I worked my way along door facing and across window panes. And I made it to the corners of the porch to begin to pull the dirt, trash, leaves and nature …. out!

And because this doesn’t happen often enough, I must do a good job. So, I have the dust broom …
and I’m digging debris out from the corners
and I see a small pile of wood dust under the “big stuff”
there
in the corner
below the door-facing
and my mind began to  r . a . c . e.

 

Sawdust

“Termites.

Oh.Lord.No.”

“Termites are eating my house.
And this is a bit more than tiny dust, these are tiny pieces of wood.
These must be huge termites. ”
I sweep and dig, looking for more evidence.
“How long have they been there?
How big is the nest?
Have they eaten the deck? The party room floor?
Are they in the walls? Will I be able to find them easily?
How much will it cost to kill them?
How much damage have they done?
If I call the termite company, will they be able to find them ALL?
Can I wait through the weekend to call  …
or should I call NOW?”

Porch mess
… and then I remember …
we use the jigsaw

Jigsaw

on the porch

Sawdust
because we don’t have a  garage. Or a shed. Or a workshop. Or even a covered car port.
That is not termite evidence. That is sawdust from the jigsaw.
And I laughed … really loud … from the belly … towards the ceiling.

Isn’t it comical how our mind can race quickly
when we are under stress or have an adrenalin rush going on?

I love the quote
“Worry is using your imagination to create things that you don’t want”
or
“Worry is a terrible misuse of the imagination.”

Sometimes, we can’t help it. I’m sure that my adrenalin flow from cleaning helped foster my imagination.
But, there are other times when I fret and worry about my uncertain future, my health, finances …..

Matthew 6 tells us,

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

I love the last verse.
Do not worry about tomorrow …. each day has enough trouble of its own.”

I’m always thankful when God grabs my attention. He certainly did that busy, end-of-summer afternoon. I am reminded to do what I can about today. I plan for tomorrow … I plan meals, plan bill paying and how my child will get home from school. I watch for messes, like my falling deck (read here). But, I refuse to worry. As best I can, I rest in Him. I trust Him. I plan on Him.

Others have turned their backs. Others have walked away. Others may be unkind.
But, God is faithful.
I see Him in my day-to-day.
He provides. He protects. He comforts.
I have no need to worry  … about anything … including termites.

Leave a Reply

